Registration Form

Please fill the form below to register.

  • we suggest to write your first name and the first letter of your last name, for example: john.k

  • Strength Indicator



17th Annual AESA Science Olympiad – March 4th, 2018. 

AESA Science Olympiad Committee would like to congratulate our 17th Annual Winners. 



Thank you,

AESA Science Olympiad Committee

GCC campus map


2017 Science Olympiad Winners



The Science Olympiad committee (SOC) was established in February 2002 with the ultimate goal to increase interest in sciences and engineering among young Armenian students, foster their knowledge beyond the confines of a classroom, and provide recognition of outstanding achievements by students and teachers.

The committee organizes an annual Science Olympiad competition among Armenian students from Armenian and public schools in the Los Angeles area. The olympiad provides interscholastic academic competition in the fields of Physical Sciences and Life Sciences for two grade levels, Middle School (grades 6-8) and High School (grades 9-12). Students’ projects are evaluated based on creativity, scientific approach, comprehension, and presentation. The Science Olympiad follows the California State Science Fair rules and regulations. The competition is judged by engineering professionals and scientists, many of whom hold advanced degrees in their fields. Some of the judges also serve at the Los Angeles County and California State science fairs. Participating students submit their projects and posters and are visited by a number of judges throughout the competition day. During the evaluation and interview process, the judges provide constructive feedback to all students for future improvements of their projects and presentations.

One of the purposes that the Science Olympiad is to prepare students for the county and state competitions as well as nurture their passion to engineering and sciences. Custom-made obsidian medals from Armenia are given to winners of the Science Olympiad competition, in addition:

Level of winner Senior (9-12) Junior (6-8)
1st place $500 $300
2nd place $250 $200
3rd $100 $100
Honorable mention $50 $50

In 2003, a number of industry leaders and AESA members offered internship programs to students for the summer. Twenty students took advantage of these opportunities by attending the UCLA Radiation Oncology Department and Medtronics internships.

In 2005, the SOC launched a mentoring program. Students are matched with experts in the area of their interest. The mentors consult the students to better guide them with their projects throughout the preparation of their science projects. 

An annual School Appreciation Award consisting of $300 has been given since the 4th AESA Science Olympiad. The school will receive this amount through the purchase of scientific equipment for its science laboratories. As of 2012, an additional $300 personal financial award has been added. It is given to the teacher who receives the most points based on the following scoring criteria:

1 point for each submitted project (not the number of participating students)
4 points for 1st Place winner
3 points for 2nd Place winner
2 points for 3rd Place winner
1 point for Honorable mention

The monetary Awards are supported by a special AESA fund, Science Olympiad Endowment fund. Please visit the “Sponsors” tab for more details.



Voicemail: (818) 547-3372



Armenian students from 6th to 12th grade are welcome to participate in the 17th Annual Science Olympiad 2018! We are looking forward to see you all there. Thank you for your interest! We will see you there!

Read more

“Armanian Engineers and Scientists of America” has a rich biograpgy in organizing events, and has participated in many conferences and fairs.

Read more

March 5th, 2017 Armenian students from 6th to 12th grade to participated in the 16th Annual Science Olympiad 2017 at CSUN Northridge Center.  Teachers, parents and mentors were helping students with creating their projects. The Armenian Scientists and Engineers of America (AESA) Science Olympiad committee (SOC) congratulates all the students, parents, teachers, judges, sponsors, donors, volunteers and committee members who made the AESA Science Olympiad 2017 competition an exciting celebration of bright minds and a successful, memorable event.  

Read more

AESA Science Olympiad co-chair Svetlana Arutyunova at Vrej Aghajanian’s interview on ABC TV Live.

Read more

Committee Members:

Svetlana Arutyunova

Sona Juharyan

Razmik D. Gharakhanian

Sevada Isayan

Angineh Shahnazarian

Sarkis Barsamian

Emilia Der Sarkissian

Dalar Nazarian

Garen Asatourian

Christopher Rosas

Ethan Keshishian

Zella Karakozian

Evgeniy Galustyants

Antonio Cady

Ashot Hambardzumyan

Narek Aramaisian

Copyrighted Image