The AESA Civil Engineering activities began immediately after the 1988 earthquake in Armenia. The Civil Engineering Committee (CEC) would later be identified as the activities of AESA begin to multiply. The mission of CEC is to assist Armenia by providing knowledge and expertise in the field of Civil Engineering. 


Azad DerBedrosian   Care 4 Sevan Project Chair
Abraham Bouyajian CEC Member
Levon Thorose PSD Project Lead Armenia
Vazgen Ghoogassian PSD San Bernardino Contact
Areg Gharabegian, PE CEC Member
Talin Petrosian CEC Member
Shant Kenderian, PE, PhD
AESA Past President
Ruben Nalbandian AESA Past President

Since the 1988 Spitak earthquake, AESA Civil Engineering Committee has introduced modern building and earthquake-resistant codes in Armenia’s construction. In addition, AESA has been investigating various renovation projects regarding old buildings and schools in Armenia.

The Civil Engineering was taking on a new project Care4Sevan, which spun off the Dzidzernavank School Project. The goal of the Dzidzernavank School Project was to help Armenian villages properly dispose of their sewage and rescue their water tables from cross-contamination. The Care4Sevan project focuses on increasing environmental awareness and promoting sound practices to protect the environment surrounding Lake Sevan. 

To learn more about the Dzidzernavank School Project, visit Archives

To learn about Care4Sevan, click here.



Committee Members:

Sona Juharyan

Sebu Tashjian

Anahid Andonian

Gregory K. Avedissian, PE

Emilia Der Sarkissian

Albert Bagratuni-Ayvazyan

Piyounik Hakopian

J Tourgoutian

tomik saiyadian

Garen Asatourian

Sergey Hovhannisyan

Christopher Rosas

Alek Harounian

Shant Minas


Antonio Cady

Greg Metchikian

Grigor Babayan

Test Test

Volodya Chibukhchyan

Davit Gevorgyan

Ashot Sargsyan

Varoozh Torossian

ayda Homsi

Syunik Zohrabyan

Berdj Mirakian

Parbi Boodaghian

Copyrighted Image